Warsaw City Hall
Site map Your tourist guide
  • Polska wersja językowa
  • Angielska wersja językowa
  • Niemiecka wersja językowa
  • Francuska wersja językowa
  • Rosyjska wersja językowa
  • Hiszpańska wersja językowa
  • Hiszpańska wersja językowa
There are countless reasons to fall in love with Warsaw

Castle Arsenal Museum in Liw (Muzeum Zbrojownia na Zamku w Liwie)

The castle of Liw is one of the most interesting sights on the Podlasko-Mazowiecki border, built in the first half of the 15th century.

ul. S. Batorego 2, Liw (map)
tel. +48 25 792 57 17
Muzeum Zbrojownia na Zamku w Liwie
Javascript is required to view this map.

The castle of Liw is one of the most interesting sights on the Podlasko-Mazowiecki border. Built in the first half of the 15th century, at the beginning of the 18th century, it fell into disrepair as a result of fighting with the Swedes, and during World War II, it narrowly avoided demolition. The ruins of the castle were saved from total destruction by Otto Warpechowski, a writer and amateur archaeologist of German origin. For two years, Warpechowski claimed that the building's original occupants had had Teutonic origins, which is what saved it from destruction at the hands of the Germans. From there, the archaeologist’s team secured and repaired the biggest damage done to the building, but the works were interrupted in 1944 when the Germans questioned Warpechowski's origin claims; fortunately, the demolition of the ruins was not considered any farther. Thanks to Warpechowski's ability to successfully lie to the Germans, the castle was saved, though renovation works were not relaunched until the 1950’s. Today, the castle is one of the largest armoury museums in Poland, and includes melee weapons, firearms and spars from the 15th to the 20th century. You can also admire a collection of Sarmaty portraits from the 17th to 18th centuries, and a large set of war-themed paintings and prints , featuring works by Jerzy and Wojciech Kossak, Tadeusz Ajdukiewicz, Leon Kapliński, Stefano Dell Bella and Eryk Dahlberg. The unique atmosphere and interior design of the museum are complemented by antique furniture and fabrics. An Archaeological Feast (Festyn Archeologiczny) is organised every year.
Location: 80 km north-east of Warsaw
Access by private transportation.

Opening hours:
October - April: Tue.-Sat. 10 am - 4 pm, Sun. and holiday 11 am - 4 pm
May - September: Tue.-Fri. 10 am - 4 pm, Sat. 10 am - 6 pm, Sun. and holiday 11 am - 6 pm

regular  - 6 PLN, reduced - 4 PLN, group - 3 PLN/person

The site uses cookies. Further information are available on Privacy police page.