Warsaw City Hall
Site map Your tourist guide
  • Polska wersja językowa
  • Angielska wersja językowa
  • Niemiecka wersja językowa
  • Francuska wersja językowa
  • Rosyjska wersja językowa
  • Hiszpańska wersja językowa
  • Włoska wersja językowa
Szukaj
Szukaj
Szukaj
There are countless reasons to fall in love with Warsaw

Undo Deleteted {nazwa obiektu}

Royal Castle (Zamek Królewski)

pl. Zamkowy 4
tel. +48 22 355 51 70
http://www.zamek-krolewski.pl

The interior decoration features salvaged works of art and elements of furnishings from the old Castle. Worth seeing are also Rembrandt's paintings.

About

The former residence of Polish kings and the seat of the Sejm of the Two Nations Republic. The classicist era marked the castle’s heyday in the 18th century, during the reign of King Stanisław August Poniatowski. Destroyed during World War II by the Nazis, the palace has been restored thanks to the efforts of the entire nation; the interior decoration features salvaged works of art from the old Castle. Worth seeing are the Great and the Royal Suite with the Great, the Throne and Canaletto Halls (featuring 22 original paintings by Bernard Belloto called Canaletto), the Senators Hall, in which the Constitution of May 3 passed in 1791 is exhibited, along with Rembrandt's paintings "Girl in the Picture Frame" and "Scholar at the Desk”.
The Kubicki Arcades (Arkady Kubickiego) exhibit archaeological objects and manor lodgings. The Pod Blachą Palace (Pałac pod Blachą) presents a unique collection of eastern rugs from the Teresa Sahakian Foundation collection.

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours:

Castle Route: exhibition The Castle - From Destruction to Reconstruction,The Lanckoroński Collection (Rembrandt's Paintings, Gallery of Paintings, Sculpture and the Decorative Arts),The Great Apartment, The  King's Apartment, The Four Seasons' Gallery, The New Deputies' Chamber, The Senators' Chamber, The New Deputies' Chamber, The Matejko Rooms and The Numismatic Cabinet.

2 May - 30 September: Mon - Wed, Fri-Sat 10 am 6 pm, Thr 10 am 8 pm, Sun 11am - 6 pm 

1 October - 30 April: Tue - Sat 10am - 4 pm, Sun 11 am - 4 pm

The Kubicki Arcades - exhibitions

2 May - 30 September: Mon - Sat 10 am - 6 pm, Sun 11am - 6 pm 

1 October - 30 April: Tue - Sat 10 am - 5 pm, Sun 11am - 5 pm 

The Tin-Roofed Palace: Apartment of Prince Joseph Poniatowski

2 May - 30 September: Mon - Sat 10 am - 6 pm, Sun 11am - 6 pm 

1 October - 30 April: Tue - Sat 10 am - 4 pm, Sun 11am - 4 pm

The Kubicki Arcades and The Royal Gardens  are open until 8 pm in summer season (2 May - 30 September) and until 5 pm in the period 1 October - 30 April 

Admission:

Castle Route: regular - 30 PLN, reduced - 20 PLN, children under the age of 16 - 1 PLN, family ticket - 15 PLN/person
Sundays - admission free (route is shorter)
Temporary exhibition in Kubicki Arkades and historical tunnel: admission free
Tin-Roofed Palace: regular - 15 PLN, reduced - 10 PLN, children under the age of 16 - 1 PLN, family ticket - 10  PLN/person, on Sundays admission free
Numismatic Cabinet: ticket for Castle Route or separate regular - 7 PLN, reduced - 5 PLN, children under the age of 16 - 1 PLN, family ticket - 5 PLN/person,  on Sunday closed

National Museum in Warsaw (Muzeum Narodowe w Warszawie)

Al. Jerozolimskie 3
tel. +48 22 621 10 31
http://www.mnw.art.pl

One of the oldest, richest in exhibits and most innovative art museums in Poland.

About

The National Museum in Warsaw is home to over 800,000 exhibits of both Polish and worldwide art. They represent all epochs from antiquity to contemporary times, including paintings, sculptures, drawings, illustrations, photographs, numismatic items and objects of applied arts.
The most unique are the Faras Gallery (the largest European collection of artefacts of the Nubian culture and art from the early-Christian period), the Medieval Art Gallery (unique sculptures, panel paintings and goldsmithery from all regions historically related to Poland in medieval times completed with medieval works of art created in other regions of Europe), Gallery of the 20th and 21st Centurypresenting paintings, sculptures and drawings from 20-30's and works of film, photography, performance from the last 40 years. The visitors can see also the largest Polish painting “Battle of Grunwald” by Jan Matejko (426 x 987 cm).
Especially cherished exhibits are paintings reclaimed after being stolen from the National Museum in Warsaw during World War II: “Jewish Woman Selling Oranges” by Aleksander Gierymski and “Black Woman” by Anna Bilińska. 
The National Museum in Warsaw is proud of its state-of-the-art LED lighting used in only few museums across the world. LED lamps make it possible to adjust the intensity of light separately for every painting to even better emphasize their values.
The Museum is seated in a modernist building located near the Poniatowski Bridge and the Charles de Gaulle Roundabout, being one of the most busy places in Warsaw.
A charming nook of relaxation inside the Museum is a courtyard named after professor Stanisław Lorentz with benches, deckchairs, a fountain and cozy Café Lorentz (Prof. Lorentz headed the National Museum in Warsaw in 1936-1982 and is known for saving many valuable works of art during World War II).
Behind the building, there is a picturesque park located at the Vistula Slope near Książęca Street. Back in the past, the park served as gardens of Prince Kazimierz Poniatowski, the oldest brother of King Stanisław August Poniatowski.


Branches of Museum:

Poster Museum in Wilanów
X. Dunikowski Sculpture Museum in Rabbitery
Museum in Nieborów and Arkadia
Museum of Interiors in Otwock Wielki

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours:
Tue.-Wed., Fri.-Sun. 10 am - 6 pm, Thu. 10 am - 9 pm

Admission:  
permanent exhibition:
regular - 15 PLN
reduced - 10 PLN
children and students under 26 years old - 1 PLN
family - 30 PLN
groups (min. 10 persons) - 10 PLN/person
temporary exhibition:
regular - 20 PLN
reduced - 15 PLN
family - 50 PLN
groups (min. 10 persons) - 15 PLN/person

Permanent and temporary exhibitions:                                                                                                                 regular - 25 PLN
reduced - 20 PLN
family - 60 PLN
groups (min. 10 persons) - 20 PLN/person

On Tuesdays admission free for permanent exhibitions

Museum of Warsaw (Muzeum Warszawy)

Rynek Starego Miasta 28 - 42
tel. (+48) 22 596 67 00
http://muzeumwarszawy.pl

Founded in 1936, the Museum of Warsaw boasts the largest collections of artefacts related to the history of Poland’s capital, its holdings currently comprising over 300,000 exhibits. The museum is housed in 11 tenements.

About

Founded in 1936, the Museum of Warsaw boasts the largest collections of artefacts related to the history of Poland’s capital, its holdings currently comprising over 300,000 exhibits.
The main premises are located inside eleven historic burgher houses along the northern façade of the Old Town Market Square. In 2014-2017, these were thoroughly renovated, preserving, however, the original interior layout, along with seventeenth-century-style wooden ceilings, wall paintings and vestibule details.
The permanent exhibition, The Things of Warsaw, features over 7,000 items, including artworks and objects of daily use from the fourteenth through to the twentieth centuries. The intention of the curators was to allow them to speak as witnesses and participants of the city’s history, thus allowing each visitor to use them as a springboard for their own unique take on the story of Warsaw.
The exhibition also features infographic sections, Warsaw Data and History of Old Town Houses. Here visitors will learn about Warsaw’s development across the ages, its past and present residents, its most interesting architectural features, and the changes undergone by a number of iconic Warsaw buildings. 
The Museum also has a café, a cinematheque screening films about Warsaw, and a library with a special reading room with books and resources on Warsaw. There is a viewing platform on the fifth floor with a magnificent view of the Old Town Market Square.
The building is adapted to accessibility requirements for wheelchair users at levels -2, -1, 0 and 1.

Branches of Museum:
Museum of Warsaw Praga
Museum of Printing

Antonina Leśniewska Museum of Pharmacy
Museum of Wola
Museum of the Military Ordinariate
Palmiry National Memorial Museum
Warsaw’s Old Town’s Heritage Interpretation Center

Museum of King Jan III’s Palace at Wilanów (Muzeum Pałacu Króla Jana III Sobieskiego w Wilanowie)

ul. St. Kostki Potockiego 10/16
tel. 22 544 27 00
http://wilanow-palac.pl/

One of the most precious monuments of Polish Baroque built for King Jan III Sobieski. The garden is the 'frame' of Palace. The Palace is closed for visitors in the first half of January, Good Friday, Good Saturday and Easter Sunday, Corpus Christi, August 15th, November 1st.

About

The Wilanów Palace is one of the most precious monuments of Polish Baroque. Built for King Jan III Sobieski at the end of the 17th century and gradually expanded by successive owners, it represents an unusual combination of a traditional Polish court with an Italian rural villa and a French chateau. The interiors of the palace, with their original design and decadent furniture, represent three style eras. The oldest, Baroque royal apartments are located in the main building, while the south wing represents an 18th century style and the more modern rooms, decorated by the Potocki family in the 19th century, are in the northern wing. The Crimson Hall, the Cabinet of the Etruscans, the Lapidary and the pre-Gallery Cabinet are all part of the historical museum founded in 1805.
The first floor houses the Polish Portrait Gallery of Works from the 16th to the 19th centuries, with portraits of kings, representatives of great aristocratic families, distinguished Poles and cultural figures. Among them, characteristic Polish coffin portraits and Sarmatian Counterfeits are also displayed.
The two-level garden is the 'frame' of Wilanów Palace, and somehow manages to combine a stylish Baroque garden, a romantic English-Chinese park, an English landscape park and a neo-Renaissance garden into a stylish and harmonious whole. The eastern part of the grounds are surrounded by a lake, the southern end of which has a cascading water feature, and the whole of the garden is decorated with sculptures, fountains and miniature samples of architecture.

Opening hours and Admission

PALACE

The palace is open to visitors all year round, except for the following days: the first half of January, Good Friday, Holy Saturday and Easter Sunday, Corpus Christi Day (26th May), 15th August, 1st November, the second half of December (from 17th December 2016). 

Opening hours of the palace during the winter season from 26th September until 16th December 2016:

Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays: 9.30 a.m. - 4.00 p.m. (last admission of visitors at 3.00 p.m.)
Tuesdays – the palace is closed to the visitors,
Thursday (free admission day for individual guests): 9.30 a.m. - 4.00 p.m. (last admission of visitors at 3.00 p.m.). On Thursdays, the palace can be entered with free entry passes for specific hours, which can be obtained at the ticket office. For reasons of restoration, the number of passes is limited. The passes are available from 9.00 a.m. until stock lasts.

Opening hours of the palace in summer season:

Mondays: 9.30 a.m. - 8.00 p.m. (last admission of visitors at 7.00 p.m.)
Tuesdays and Fridays: 9.30 a.m. - 4.00 p.m. (last admission of visitors at 3.00 p.m.) 
Wednesdays, Saturdays, Sundays: 9.30 a.m. - 6.00 p.m. (last admissiona of visitors at 5.00 p.m.)
Thursdays (free admission day for individual guests): 9.30 a.m. - 4.00 p.m. (last admission of visitors at 3.00 p.m.). On Thursdays, the palace can be entered with free entry passes for specific hours, which can be obtained at the ticket office. For reasons of restoration, the number of passes is limited. The passes are available from 9.00 a.m. until stock lasts.

Attention! Due to conservatory work, the Princess Marshal Lubomirska Apartments are closed to the public until further notice. We apologise for the inconvenience.

Ticket prices (guide not included)

-    Regular price 20 PLN
-    Reduced price 15 PLN
-    Age 7-16   1 PLN

Opening hours and ticket prices for temporary exhibitions are decided individually.

PARK

Open every day all year round, from 9.00 a.m. until dusk*. During violent winds, the garden is temporarily closed for the sake of the tourists safety.

- 1st January - 13th March: to 4.00 p.m. (last admission at 4.00 p.m.)
- 14th - 31st March: to 6.00 p.m. (last admission at 5.30 p.m.)
- April: to 8.00 p.m. (last admission at 7.30 p.m.)
- May: to 9.00 p.m. (last sdmission at 8.30 p.m.)
- June-July: to 10.00 p.m. (last admission at 9.30 p.m.)
- August: to 9.00 p.m. (last admission at 8.30 p.m.)
- September: to 8.00 p.m. (last admission at 7.30 p.m.)
- 1st - 16th October: to 7.00 p.m. (last admission at 6.30 p.m.) 
- 17th - 31st October: to 6.00 p.m. (last admission at 5.30 p.m.)
- 1st November - 12th March 2017: to 4.00 p.m. (last admission at 4.00 p.m.)

Ticket prices (guide not included):

-    Regular price 5 PLN
-    Reduced price 3 PLN
-    Age  7-16   1 PLN

Entrance to the park is free on Thursdays.

Opening hours and ticket prices for temporary exhibitions are decided individually.

ORANGERY

As a salon for temporary exhibitions, the Orangery is open for tourists only during exhibitions. Opening hours and ticket prices are decided individually for each exhibition.

Access to the courtyard of the palace is free of charge from 9 a.m. - until closing time of the park

Fryderyk Chopin Museum (Muzeum Fryderyka Chopina)

ul. Okólnik 1
tel. +48 22 441 62 51
http://www.chopin.museum

Collection is the world's largest gathering of Chopin memorabilia.

About

Housed in Ostrogski Palace (Pałac Ostrogskich), strikingly situated on the Vistula escarpment, it is a baroque-classical jewel of a building. The Museum’s beginnings date back to the 1930s: in 1935, the Chopin Institute (as it was called then), founded by prominent representatives of culture, began to purchase and collect several valuable manuscripts from the composer’s relatives.
As such, the museum’s exhibits make up the world’s richest and most varied collection of memorabilia related to both Chopin as an individual, and his work. The collection includes manuscripts and printed copies of Chopin’s works, his correspondence, autographs, notes, works of art, personal items belonging to the composer and his piano. There are also some extremely valuable and moving exhibits on show, most notably the post-mortem face mask, and a cast of his hand.
The museum in the Ostrogski Palace is the most modern biographical museum in Europe. Multimedia exhibitions and touch screens – here the real world meets the virtual. The ticket to enter this magical world is an electronic card; by using it, one may hear commentary and information in several languages, and listen to music.
No matter if you are a tourist, a musicologist, or even a child – everyone will find something to interest them. This museum was specifically designed so that everyone can create their own sightseeing route and itinerary, in accordance with their personal interests.
The entire exhibition consists of 15 rooms, each one creating a separate ‘mini-museum’. You can thus see and experience how Chopin lived: take a stroll through Warsaw, then enjoy ‘his Paris’, listen to the twittering birds in Nohant, inhale the scent of violets – Chopin’s favourite flowers, meet some women from his life, sense when the composer was displeased, listen to his works… and finally, enter the room of death, which is designed as a big black box.

Branches of Museum:

Fryderyk Chopin's Birthplace in Żelazowa Wola

Opening hours and admission

Opening hours:
Tue.-Sun. 11 am-8 pm

Admission:
regular - 22 PLN, reduced - 13 PLN, regular for groups - 18 PLN, reduced for groups - 11 PLN, family ticket - 62 PLN
on Sundays admission free

Łazienki Królewskie Museum (Muzeum Łazienki Królewskie)

ul. Agrykoli 1
tel. +48 504 243 783
http://www.lazienki-krolewskie.pl

Łazienki Królewskie is a Palace-Garden complex the most beautiful planned area in Warsaw and one of the most beautiful in Europe, equally stunning in terms of its greenery and architecture.

About

Łazienki Królewskie Museum is a Palace-Garden complex which includes a park (76 hectares of nature, right in the city center) and numerous historical objects. The park was created using the formerly wildly growing forest, allowing the animals to be 'detained' under natural conditions. In the 18th century it became the most beautiful planned area in Warsaw and one of the most beautiful in Europe, equally stunning in terms of its greenery and architecture.

Łazienki performs a variety of functions: it is a museum, a place of cultural, scientific and entertainment events, and a favourite place for walks. It is also an important place for music lovers. For 50 years, at the foot of the world's most famous monument of Fryderyk Chopin, on Saturdays and Sundays during the summer, free piano concerts have been held, gathering crowds of tourists and music lovers.

Palace on the Island
– a pearl of Polish architecture and one of the symbols of Warsaw, is the most important building in the garden. Its history is closely connected with the reign of Stanisław August Poniatowski, the last Polish king. He decided to expand a small pavilion of Lubomirski's Bath to serve as one of his residences. The Palace, though badly damaged, survived World War II and was re-opened to the public in 1960.

Myślewicki Palace
The palace took its name from Myślewice village, which was once located not far from the palace. In 1774 the walls of the palace already existed, however the date of the commencement of construction is unknown. The palace is situated at the closing of the road leading from the city. King Stanisław August Poniatowski ordered it to be enlarged with two-storey pavilions, combined with the main body with round fittings of a single storey, at this point in its design, the building was finished by Merlini. The palace is maintained in the early classicist style, making it one of Warsaw's few surviving examples of this architectural era. The original aspects of the structure are the round outline of the 'wings', and the particular shape of the roof which is designed to resemble patterns in traditional Chinese art.

White House

Situated on the Royal Promenade, it was built in 1774 and designed by Dominik Merlini at the command of Stanisław August Poniatowski. The interior was decorated by two painters: Jan Bogumił Plersch and Jan Ścisło. The building is an original memento of the King Stanisław period because, although devastated, it was not completely destroyed during World War II. Its unique interior includes gigantic paintings in the Dining Room, original Chinese wallpaper (from the second half of the 18th century) in the Drawing Room, and the Office decorated with paintings by Jan Bogumił Plersch; all of these rooms have been preserved and are original. Also worth noting: in the Bedroom stands the King's authentic bed.

Old Orangery
In the east wing there is a wonderful interior, including one of the world's few genuine examples of an authentic court theater: it's made of wood and the audience area, consisting of a ground floor and boxes, is rich in decorative painting. The west wing contained living quarters for servants and guest rooms.

Podchorążówka

Right next to the Palace on the Water, in the eastern part of the garden, there is the so-called Wielka Oficyna (Grand Office), also called the Podchorążówka (the Military College). During the reign of Stanisław August, it was here that the kitchen and outhouse with flats were located. In 1822, the building was transferred into the Cadet School of Infantry and hence its present name derives from this. The building has been written into the history of the Polish nation because it was here that Piotr Wysocki urged cadets to pick up their weapons and revolt, effectively beginning the November Uprising.

Amphitheatre
Opened on the anniversary of the election of King Stanisław August, on September 7, 1791. Built according to a John Christian Kamsetzer design, situated on the bank of the pond, it's based on older buildings that once stood in this spot. The audience area is reminiscent of the theatre in the Herculaneum, and is topped with statues of famous dramatic writers, whilst the stage reminds one of the ruins of the Roman Forum. Its most unique feature is the separation of the audience from the stage using water.

Pavilions in the Park:
Hermitage
A small building, which was destroyed by fire early in the reign of Stanisław August. Rebuilt in the 18th century, designed by Dominik Merlini, it has survived unchanged until today. Currently, it houses a gallery where temporary exhibitions are presented, and it is also is a venue for concerts and meetings with authors and artists.
Temple of Sybilla
Built in 1822, its construction and design are inspired by ancient Greek buildings. The interior is decorated with paintings and motifs of fruit and flowers.
Egyptian Temple
Built around 1822, today only a fragment of its original structure remains; the temple stands near the pond. Historically, its roof served as a bridge and the main part of the building was the glass-glazed conservatory with fig trees. Currently, the temple houses the Museum of Scouting.
Wodozbiór
This is the place where the flowing water from nearby sources was collected and transferred to the Bath and the park fountains. In 1827 the building was re-built to resemble the Roman tomb of Cecilia Metelli on the Via Appia near Rome. Currently the interior serves as a gallery, where temporary exhibitions are organized.
New Orangery
Built in 1860, designed by Adam Adolphe Loeve and Józef Orłowski. Initially, during the winter months, this is where the palace's exotic plants were kept, but currently it houses a permanent garden and a restaurant, called Belvedere.
Stara Kordegarda
Built during 1791-1792 on the north bank of the pond. During the reign of King Stanisław August, it was occupied by the royal guards protecting the Palace on the Water. The decoration of the building was inspired by J.Ch. Kamsetzer, as is the stone colonnade. Today, it is the seat and showroom of the Society of Fine Arts.
Nowa Kordegarda
Built between 1779-1780, it served as an entertainment pavilion for a popular social game of the era, Trou Madam, a game which involved rolling stone balls. In 1782, it was adapted to act as the manor theater room known as the Small Theater. After the construction of the new Grand Theatre in the Orangery, the Small Theatre lost its raison d'être and the building was converted into a storage space for sculptures.
Narutowicz House
The building was erected in the 1930s as a residential building for senior officers. Before his death, the first President of the Republic of Poland, Gabriel Narutowicz, lived here. Today, it is a nursery.
Barracks of the Cantonists
The barracks were built between 1826-1828, in a simple, classical design. It acted as the Cavalry headquarters in the 17th century, and today, it houses the Museum of Hunting and Horsemanship. www.muzeum.warszawa.pl

In every nook and corner of the Łazienki Royal Park you can find a variety of unusual statues and monuments, with the most important ones being:
Jan III Sobieski Monument
Honouring the victorious commander of the Battle of Vienna, the monument was put up by Stanisław August Poniatowski, the last king of Poland. The statue was to present values cherished by king Stanisław. Unfortunately, his reign did not stand up to the one of his great predecessor and ended up in erasing Poland from the map of Europe. As the monument was very costly, its building was quickly followed by a satiric poem: "A hundred thousand for a statue! I'd give twice the sum to freeze Stanisław and to wake up Jan."
Chopin Monument
Initially arousing great controversies due to its expressive form, the monument is one of the icons of today's Warsaw. In due course, it has become an integral part of its surrounding, making it impossible to even imagine the Royal Łazienki Park without the statue and Chopin concerts held at its foot.
Henryk Sienkiewicz Monument
The statue of one of Warsaw most popular writers, whose books still enjoy great popularity in Poland and abroad. The sculpture presents the Nobel Prize Laureate of 1905 at his work.

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours in winter season 17 October - 14 April:
Park: Mon.-Sun. from dawn till dusk
Palace on the Water: Mon. 11 am-4 pm, Tue.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm
Between 4 pm-6 pm the Palace can be visited after booking 1 day in advance.
White House: 
Closed in winter season.
Old Orangery and Royal Theatre: Mon. 11 am-4 pm, Tue.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm
Between 4 pm-6 pm the venues can be visited after booking 1 day in advance. 
Myślewicki Palace: Mon. 11 am-4 pm, Tue.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm
Between 4 pm-6 pm the Palace can be visited after booking 1 day in advance. 
Podchorążówka: Mon. 11 am-4 pm, Tue.-Sun. 10 am-4 pm
Between 4 pm-6 pm the venue can be visited after booking 1 day in advance. 

Opening hours in summer season 15 April - 16 October:
Park: Mon.-Sun. from dawn till dusk
Palace on the Water: Mon. 11 am-6 pm; Tue.-Wed., Sun. 9 am-6 pm, Thr.-Sat. 9 am-8 pm
Old Orangery and Royal Theatre: Mon. 11 am-6 pm; Tue.-Wed., Sun. 9 am-6 pm, Thr.-Sat. 9 am-8 pm
Myślewicki Palace and White House: Mon. 11 am-6 pm, Tue.-Sun. 9 am-6 pm
Podchorążówka: Mon. 11 am-6 pm, Tue.-Sun. 9 am-6 pm


Admission:
Palace on the Water: regular - 25 PLN, reduced - 18 PLN, children and students under the age of 26 - 1 PLN
White House: regular - 6 PLN, reduced - 4 PLN, children and students under the age of 26 - 1 PLN
Old Orangery, Royal Theatre: regular - 20 PLN, reduced - 10 PLN, children and students under the age of 26 - 1 PLN
Myślewicki Palace: regular - 10 PLN, reduced - 5 PLN, children and students under the age of 26 - 1 PLN
Podchorążówka: admission free

On Thursdays admission free

Pass: Palace on the Water, Old Orangery, Myślewicki Palace, Podchorążówka, White House
one-day pass:
regular - 45 PLN, reduced - 28 PLN
three-day pass:
regular - 50 PLN, reduced - 30 PLN

POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews

ul. Anielewicza 6
tel. +48 22 471 03 01
http://www.polin.pl/

The Museum of the History of Polish Jews is located in a state-of-the-art building that aroused in Muranów, in the centre of the former Jewish district. The aim of the institution is to restore memory about the centuries of common Polish and Jewish history.

About

Locating the Museum in Muranów is no coincidence. Before World War II, this was the central point of a district inhabited mostly by the Jewish population, while during the war and after setting up the ghetto, the building served as the seat of Judenrat, a ghetto council selected by German authorities. Also, this was where the Germans – having put down the ghetto uprising – established the "Gęsiówka" concentration camp. Yet, this place deserves a special chapter in the history not only due to war-time events. In 1970, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany Willi Brandt knelt down in a historic gesture at the foot of the Monument of the Ghetto Heroes, right on the opposite side of today's Museum. This event was hailed symbolic German apologies for the crime of Holocaust. The modern Museum is to give this site another mission: by becoming the centre of dialogue, it is to build new layers of the common ground between the two so tragically tried nations.
The building design was selected by way of an international competition won by a Finnish team of architects, whose design represents a range of symbolic meanings. The uniform, glass façade is split by a gigantic crack evoking connotations with the Biblical crossing of the Red Sea by the Israelis. Glass panels covering the elevation are embellished with letters taken from Latin and Hebrew alphabets, signifying the word "Polin". In Hebrew, the word means Poland, but it may also be interpreted as the phrase "here you will rest". Some believe the latter was regarded as a good omen by Jews wandering across medieval Europe torn apart by religious conflicts and thus they began to settle down in great numbers on the Polish land. The territory was perceived as an oasis of tolerance, unique in Europe of that time. As a result, in the 16th century Poland was home to approx. 80% of the world Jewish population.
The contemporary architecture of the building corresponds ideally with tasks assigned to the Museum of the History of Polish Jews, the aim of which is to adopt an innovative approach to presenting 1000 years of coexistence of the Polish and Jewish nations.
A permanent exhibition was opened to public in 2014. The facility also holds various kinds of meetings, concerts, theatre performances and other events.

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours:
Mon., Thu., Fri. 10 am-6 pm (last entry at 4 pm)
Wed., Sat., Sun. 10 am-8 pm (last entry at 6 pm)
On Tuesdays the museum is closed.

Admission:
Permanent exhibition:
regular - 25 PLN, reduced - 15 PLN, family (max. 2 adults and 4 children under 18) - 55 PLN. On Thursdays admission is free.

Permanent and temporary exhibition:
regular - 30 PLN, reduced - 20 PLN, family (max. 2 adults and 4 children under 18) - 65 PLN

Temporary exhibition:
regular - 12 PLN, reduced - 8 PLN, family (max. 2 adults and 4 children under 18) - 30 PLN

Events organized at the Museum (concerts, performances, etc.) will be priced individually. Please check the current program for details.

Tickets available online at bilety.polin.pl in the Polin Museum.
Reservations can be made by telephone, from Monday to Friday, 9am-5pm:
tel. +48 22 471 03 01, rezerwacje@jewishmuseum.org.pl

The joined ticket - admission to the permanent exhibition at POLIN Museum and temporary exhibitions of the Emanuel Ringelblum's Jewish Historical Institute, to the historic Nożyk's synagogue and the Jewish cemetery at Okopowa street - ticket price: 40 PLN standard, 25 PLN reduced.

 

Centre for Contemporary Art Ujazdowski Castle (Centrum Sztuki Współczesnej Zamek Ujazdowski)

ul. Jazdów 2
tel. +48 22 628 12 71
http://csw.art.pl

The Gallery is a place for the creation, presentation and documentation of contemporary art.

About

The Centre for Contemporary Art Ujazdowski Castle is a place for the creation, presentation and documentation of contemporary art in all of its manifestations. The CSW organizes exhibitions, presentations of visual theater, performances, concerts of contemporary music, experimental films and video art screenings, creative workshops, and numerous artistic events mixing the various genres and forms of art. Ujazdowski Castle also operates as the Library and Artistic Reading Room, and the Videoteka (video library), releasing films of artistic events.

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours:
Tue.-Wed., Fri-Sun. 12:00-19:00, Thr 12:00-21:00

Admission: 
regular - 12 PLN, reduced - 6 PLN, on Thursdays admission free

Warsaw Rising Museum (Muzeum Powstania Warszawskiego)

ul. Grzybowska 79
tel. +48 22 539 79 05
http://www.1944.pl/

Museum located in former trams power station was open for public on the 60th anniversary of Warsaw Uprising. One of the main attractions is a replica of the bomber Liberator B-24J.

About

The Warsaw Rising Museum is one of the most visited places in Warsaw. Opened on the 60th anniversary of the outbreak of fighting in the city, it is a tribute to those who fought and died for a free Poland and its capital. The exhibition shows the struggle of everyday life before and during the Warsaw Uprising and the horror of occupation – which was a complex international situation – to the post-war communist terror and the fate of insurgents in the PRL. Images and sounds present the days prior to the outbreak of the Uprising, its subsequent phases, as well as the insurgents’ exit and their subsequent fate. With an area of over 3,000 meters, there are nearly 1,000 exhibits and 1,500 photographs and films.

The heart of the Museum is a steel monument, passing through all the floors of the building. On its walls is engraved the Uprising's calendar of events, and the sound of a heartbeat which can be heard from inside symbolizes the life of Warsaw in 1944. A special attraction is the Museum tower, with a beautiful view of Warsaw and Freedom Park with the Memorial Wall, on which are engraved the names of more than 10,000 insurgents who died during battle. In the central part of the wall the ‘Monter’ bell is hung: weighing 230 kg, it is dedicated to General Antoni Chruściel.

From August 1st, visitors can see the 3D movie ‘The City of Ruins’. It is the simulation of the Liberator plane flights over destroyed Warsaw in 1945.

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours:
Mon., Wed., Fri. 8 am - 6 pm, Thu. 8 am - 8 pm, Sat.-Sun. 10 am - 6 pm
On Tuesdays the museum is closed.

Admission: 
regular - 18 PLN, reduced - 14 PLN, groups - 10 PLN/person
On Sundays admission is free.

State Ethnographic Museum (Państwowe Muzeum Etnograficzne)

ul. Kredytowa 1
tel. +48 22 827 76 41
http://www.ethnomuseum.pl/

The oldest museum of its kind in Poland, collects examples of Polish and international folk culture.

About

The State Ethnographic Museum, founded in 1888, is the oldest museum of its kind in Poland.
The Museum collects examples of Polish and international folk culture, which number over 80,000 objects. Permanent exhibitions present the cultures of Africa, Oceania and America as well as some aspects of Polish culture such as rituals, customs and material culture. The Museum also organizes temporary thematic exhibitions and has an effective role in scientific publishing, research and promotional activities regarding culture.

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours:
Tue, Thu, Fri 10:00-17:00; Wed 11:00-19:00; Sat. 10:00-18:00, Sun. 12:00-17:00

Admission: 
Permanent exhibition: regular - 12 PLN, reduced - 6 PLN, children under the age of 16 - 1 PLN
on Thursdays admission free for permanent exhibition

Temporary exhibitions: regular - 20 PLN, reduced - 10 PLN

State Archaeological Museum (Państwowe Muzeum Archeologiczne)

ul. Długa 52
tel. +48 22 504 48 00
http://www.pma.pl

The Museum located in a historic building of Arsenal collects archeaological digs and excavations depict the history and culture of the inhabitants of the Polish lands, from the first appearance of people.

About

The State Archeaological Museum is located in a historic building of the former Warsaw Arsenal, which was built in 1643 during the reign of King Wladysław IV Waza. After the November Uprising, it functioned as a prison until 1935, later housing the Archive. During the German occupation, it was here on March 26, 1943 that the famous ‘Rudy’ repelling of the Nazis by the ‘Szare Szeregi’ scouts took place, right under the Arsenal building. For several years now, on the anniversary of the November Uprising, a great historical spectacle called ‘Night of November 1830’ is organized.
The Museum collects some very old items – discovered in the course of various archeaological digs and excavations – that depict the history and culture of the inhabitants of the Polish lands, from the first appearance of people in the Stone Age to the historic first Polish rulers; the oldest flint monuments are 100,000 years old. It has Europe's richest collection of material relating to prehistoric flint mining, a large collection of clay vessels, bronze items from cemeteries and treasures from the Bronze Age and Early Iron Age, items from large grave endowments, early medieval stone tombs installations from Mazovia and Podlasie, numerous treasure coins and ornaments and monuments from the Baltic lands.

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours:
Mon.-Fri. 9 am - 4 pm, Sun. 10 am - 4 pm 

Admission: 
regular - 10 PLN, reduced - 5 PLN, on Sundays admission free

Copernicus Science Centre (Centrum Nauki Kopernik)

ul. Wybrzeże Kościuszkowskie 20
tel. 22 596 41 00
http://www.kopernik.org.pl

One of the most modern institutions of its kind in Europe.

About

We do not only look here, we experiment. On 22.000 m² one can carry out experiments, which make complicated natural phenomena understandable – and have great fun at the same time. The experiments are so exciting that several hours should be planned for them.
There is no prescribed visiting route, the visitors themselves decide, what they want to see and when. In the exhibition „The World on the Move”, for example, one can experience for oneself, how the astronaut Neil Armstrong must have felt, when he was standing on the moon. The exhibition „Re:Generation” makes us aware, what we are afraid of and why. The exhibition „Lightzone” is a perfect place for people who like crime mysteries and in the exhibition „Humans and the Environment” the visitor himself becomes the most important exhibit. Here we get to know the limits of our possibilities, the secrets of our senses and our body.
One of the greatest attractions is also the planetarium „The Sky of Copernicus”, where projections onto a dome screen surrounding the auditorium and modern multimedia technology give the participants the impression that they are travelling to the remotest corners of the cosmos, into the depths of an ocean or inside a volcano. A special show even allows us to return to the beginnings of life on earth.
Another curiosity of the Copernicus Science Centre is the „Electrobard”, an electronic poet, who writes poems on request and then recites them. The prototype for the manlike machine was a figure invented by Stanisław Lem in his series of short stories “The Cyberiad”.
Experiments can be conducted also in the open air, in the “Park of the Discoverers”, right on the banks of the Vistula. By means of the sound installations „Echo”, „Conference” and „Acoustic Mirror” we can communicate with each other from a distance. In the summer, popular science film projections and concerts are organised in the “Park of the Discoverers”.   
The roof garden is scheduled to be opened in spring 2012. Its developers took their inspiration from the phenomenon of erosion. From bird’s eye view one can see, how the garden paths imitate the typical channels eroded by the water. The green roof is not only for decoration, it also absorbs noise, has a cooling effect in the summer and protects the building against heat loss in the winter.
From the roof of the Copernicus Science Centre one has a view on the Vistula and the Praga bank, the Świętokrzyski bridge, the national stadium and the neighbouring roof garden of the university library.

Opening hours and admission

Opening hours:
January -March:
Mon - closed
Tue - Fri:   9 am - 6 pm,
Sat - Sun:  10 am - 7 pm

April - June:
Mon - closed
Tue - Fri:   8 am - 6 pm,
Sat - Sun:  10 am - 7 pm

July - August
Mon - closed
Tue - Sun 9 am - 7 pm,

September - December 
Mon - closed
Tue - Fri:   9 am - 6 pm,
Sat - Sun:  10 am - 7 pm

Roof garden : admission is free
May-August - Tue.- Sun. 10 am 8 pm
September-October  - Tue.- Sun. 10 am 5 pm
November-April witer break, garden is closed

Admission:
regular - 27 PLN, reduced - 18 PLN, family ticket (4 persons) - 72 PLN 

Zachęta National Gallery of Art (Zachęta Narodowa Galeria Sztuki)

pl. Małachowskiego 3
tel. +48 22 556 96 00
http://www.zacheta.art.pl

One of the oldest showrooms and largest contemporary art gallery in Poland.

About

Zachęta is one of the oldest showrooms in Poland. The impressive building was built between 1898-1900 and designed by Stefan Szyller. All the most outstanding Polish artists’ presented their works in Zachęta, including Wojciech Gerson, Jan Matejko, Józef Chełmoński, Józef Brandt, Stanisław Wyspiański, Józef Mehoffer and many others.
Zachęta is now the most prestigious and largest contemporary art gallery in Poland, with a valuable collection of post-war Polish art. Today, the Gallery exhibits the outstanding work of many artists such as Paul Cezanne, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec, Pablo Picasso, Kasimir Malevich, Max Ernst, Jean Dubuffet, Kim Sooja, Yayoi Kusama, Fernand Léger and Henri Stazewski, Alina Szapocznikow, Roman Opalka, Miroslaw Bałka, Jerzy Nowosielski, Katarzyna Kozyra, Krzysztof Wodiczko, among others.
In the Gallery, lectures, scientific sessions, book promotional events, meetings with artists, movie screenings, concerts, educational workshops and integration programs are held. The building also has a cinema studio and workshop, and features a well-stocked art bookshop. In addition, Zachęta has a large collection of directories and a fully-structured documentation database of contemporary Polish artists.

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours:
Tue.-Sun. noon - 8 pm

Admission: 

regular - 15 PLN, reduced - 10 PLN, family ticket - 18 PLN, on Thursdays admission free

Museum of The Polish Army (Muzeum Wojska Polskiego)

Al. Jerozolimskie 3
tel. +48 22 629 52 71
http://www.muzeumwp.pl

The history of the Polish Army from its beginnings to the World War II.

About

The only museum in Poland depicting the history of the Polish Army from its beginnings in the
10th century to the end of World War II. It is also the largest historic-military institution in
the country, housing a huge art collection, a great variety of military items and a specialized
collection of books.

Opening hours and Admission

Opening hours:
Wed. 10 am - 5 pm, Thu.-Sun. 10 am - 4 pm
The open-air exhibition is open every day:
May 1 - September 30: 9 am - 6 pm
October 1 - April 30: 9 am - 4 pm (Wednesdays 9 am - 5 pm)


Admission:
regular - 15 PLN, reduced - 8 PLN, group - 4 PLN, on Thursdays admission free

If you want to have access to your tourist guide in the future

add this site to your bookmarks

or

copy and save url address

or

type your e-mail below, and we will send you url adress of your tourist guide

The site uses cookies. Further information are available on Privacy police page.