Slowly in Wola
Route proposal and photos by: Urszula Wardzyńska
We will start our walk at the intersection of Obozowa and Jana Ostroroga streets, at the Electio Viritim monument. The monument commemorates the former Election Fields in Wola. It was in this area that the Polish nobility elected kings from 1575 to 1764. Going further, along Młynarska Street, we come to the historic Evangelical-Augsburg Cemetery, which, according to the architect Szymon Bogumił Zug, was also supposed to be a place for walks. Many eminent figures are buried here, for example the Wedel family or Jan Krystian Ulrich. Near the cemetery gate there is also a worth seeing mural in memory of Czesław Niemen.
We will now go to the “Zagoździński” confectionery. Its history dates back to the 1820s, when Władysław Zagoździński – a young confectioner opened his first restaurant. In 1973, the confectionery was moved to its current address (Górczewska 15), and the frying of donuts is done by subsequent generations, still using the old recipes. It is said that Marshal Józef Piłsudski himself enjoyed them. In addition, the studio is located in a building belonging to Kolonia Wawelberg – the oldest housing estate in Warsaw.
Let’s go to the “Solidarności” avenue. On the way, we will see a huge mural by Tytus Brzozowski dedicated to Wola – its constant changes and development. Going further, we come to the monument to the Victims of the Wola Massacre. It commemorates the terrible events that took place in the first days of the Warsaw Uprising, when the Nazi Germany occupant killed about 50,000 inhabitants of this district.